Texas Legislature Online
Last Action: 02/12/2007 H Referred to Transportation
Caption Version: Introduced Caption Text: Relating to the driver’s license of a person younger than 18 years of age.
Subjects: Minors–General (I0537) Vehicles & Traffic–Drivers Licenses (I0840) PUBLIC SAFETY, DEPARTMENT OF (V0251)
House Committee: Transportation Status: In committee
Text (under “Bill” choose type of file by icon)
(a) The department may issue a Class C driver’s license to an applicant under 18 years of age only if the applicant:
(2) has submitted to the department a driver education certificate issued under Chapter 1001, Education Code [
Section 9A, Texas Driver and Traffic Safety Education Act (Article 4413(29c),...], …
(A) enrolled in a public school[,
home school,] or private school
(B) who attended home school for at least 80 days in the [
fall or spring]
Sec. 521.3467. AUTOMATIC REVOCATION FOR FAILURE TO MAINTAIN EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS. (a) A license of a person younger than 18 years of age who has not obtained a high school diploma or its equivalent shall be revoked if the person: (2) does not attend home school for at least 80 days in the current or preceding semester; or …
(b) … If a student attending home school does not attend home school for at least 80 days in the current or preceding semester, the person’s parent or guardian shall notify the superintendent of the public school district in which the student resides.
Did the person who wrote this have any idea about homeschooling? That last bit is a real crack-up — “If a student attending home school does not attend home school for at least 80 days … parent or guardian shall notify the superintendent …”
Leaving aside that in Texas homeschooling families are considered private schools (and that larger private schools don’t report to the public school superintendents), how would …….. I can’t even come up with a situation where children were managing to not “attend home school.” After all, it’s home.
I suppose rascals could sneak out their bedroom windows and use those driver’s licenses to pilfer the family car and then hang at the mall all day, but I can’t see this going on for long — like maybe a second after the at-home parents hears the car start up? And for this to go on for 80 days?!?
Comments are at the blog, Texas Ed.
posted by Valerie