In the News – HEM

Permanent cat for In the News

Paying Homeschool Workers

Paying Homeschool Workers

Carol Topp, CPA is offering an on-line workshop on Paying Workers in a Homeschool Organization on Friday, January 15, 2010 at 4 pm EST/3 pm CST/2 pm MT/1 pm PST Topics: * Volunteers. Can you pay a volunteer? How to reward volunteers. * Independent Contractors. What are they? What IRS forms need to be...
Read More »

Rethinking Everything Magazine

Rethinking Everything Magazine

Rethinking Everything Magazine is a new magazine with an ad-free, page-turning, online format and deeply personal stories that push the envelopes of societal norms. Co-publishers Barb Lundgren and Sarah Parent explain: “What we’ve created is an inspirational, international, quarterly compilation of true stories from real people who have stepped far outside society’s normative boxes...
Read More »

Family Global Treks

Family Global Treks

“When Carla Fisher and her husband announced plans to travel the globe with their adolescent daughters for a year, some friends called them crazy. Seven years later, with wonderful memories and a book documenting their world trek, the Fishers now seem like global trailblazers. “Despite a recession that may have limited the number of...
Read More »

Homeschoolers Doing Just Fine?

Homeschoolers Doing Just Fine?

“Homeschoolers are doing just fine. Leave them alone. “That seems to be the resounding (and long-held) sentiment among many homeschool advocates. And they certainly have a point: The widespread deficiencies of the one-size-fits-all public school system are becoming ever more apparent, some instructors are more often babysitter than teacher, and many home-educated students simply...
Read More »

Book Arts Bash

Book Arts Bash

The Book Arts Bash is a writing contest for homeschooled authors. The Book Arts Bash celebrates untrammeled creativity, and promotes the integration of writing across the curriculum. We put homeschooled students’ best work on the desks of literary agents, best-selling authors, and other industry professionals, to encourage young writers and connect great minds. The...
Read More »